My Husband, the Dad

I’ve seen so many versions of my husband in the past 8 1/2 years, but watching him being a dad is by far my favorite.

He musters patience that sometimes I can’t even find for myself. He’s always right there by my side parenting. He even went part time at work so he could be home with Oliver. He’s passionate, kind, loving, and ever so protective of our sweet baby boy. He is bound and determined to be the absolute best dad and raise a good human being. He wants O to have the dad that he didn’t have, full time, growing up.

Raising a tiny human is the hardest thing I’ve ever done and I’m so glad I have him by my side. For him to be there with me for all the sleepless nights, the never ending exhausting days, the blowouts, and spit up and everything else crazy that is yet to come. But also all the smiles, babbles, giggles and new experiences.

Mothering came naturally to me, but my husband has slowly blossomed into fatherhood. One day we looked around and realized things had shifted. We couldn’t tell you when, but O no longer cried for hours on end. And my husband openly admitted he now likes and loves O. (Have a colicky baby and you’ll know exactly what he means) The way O looks at Cody is completely different than the way he looks at me. He knows daddy is his playmate and can always make him giggle. He lights up when he sees him and cody is always teaching him new things. I hope they are always as close as they are right now, because I’m in love.

Xoxo,

Marissa

Leave a comment